1. Post #41
    MHGooseMH's Avatar
    February 2010
    75 Posts
    Nice idea,can't wait for it to be released!

  2. Post #42
    Chill Moderator
    Grea$eMonkey's Avatar
    May 2007
    6,302 Posts
    It's not about who does it first, it's about who does it better.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United States Show Events Agree Agree x 14 (list)

  3. Post #43
    Killed postal with a fart once.
    gk99's Avatar
    December 2007
    7,555 Posts
    It's not about who does it first, it's about who does it better.
    And makes it more user-friendly.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United States Show Events Agree Agree x 2Dumb Dumb x 1 (list)

  4. Post #44
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    The Beta's nearly done. I'm working on better performance and debugging it. Also, some minor features (error messages in chat or in console etc.) will be added before the first release.
    Depending on the circumstances in real life, it may come out in this week.

    Also, I wrote a quick list of the current commands, types and scripts. But be warned: It's not user-friendly written yet. (Link removed, here's the current manual)

    And makes it more user-friendly.
    The first versions have their focus in quality but not in user-friendliness. If I'm finished, I MAY write GUIs, but in my opinion, commands are faster to execute than GUIs and require not much practice. Instead of writing a GUI, I would rather write a detailled tutorial that describes how to use DMod in normal and advanced ways.
    For managing scenes (moving/copying/deleting frames), you only have to have the data/dmod/ folder opened and know how to move/copy/delete files.
    Maybe I'll find a friendly LUA-Coder doing the GUI stuff if it's actually needed.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Germany Show Events Useful Useful x 1 (list)

  5. Post #45
    Killed postal with a fart once.
    gk99's Avatar
    December 2007
    7,555 Posts
    The first versions have their focus in quality but not in user-friendliness. If I'm finished, I MAY write GUIs, but in my opinion, commands are faster to execute than GUIs and require not much practice. Instead of writing a GUI, I would rather write a detailled tutorial that describes how to use DMod in normal and advanced ways.
    For managing scenes (moving/copying/deleting frames), you only have to have the data/dmod/ folder opened and know how to move/copy/delete files.
    Maybe I'll find a friendly LUA-Coder doing the GUI stuff if it's actually needed.
    As long as I can make a not-poorly done machinima.

    it may come out in this week.
    Awesome.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United States Show Events Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  6. Post #46
    Chill Moderator
    Grea$eMonkey's Avatar
    May 2007
    6,302 Posts
    And makes it more user-friendly.
    That's part of what makes it "better".

  7. Post #47
    Gold Member
    Darkomni's Avatar
    August 2007
    2,382 Posts
    Now if only someone remade SFM or even got it to work with gmod :swoon:
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Canada Show Events Dumb Dumb x 1Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  8. Post #48
    Crossu88's Avatar
    July 2008
    1,338 Posts
    I have an idea, make it so you can parent a camera to a part of the animated ragdoll.

  9. Post #49
    The Rizzler's Avatar
    March 2009
    1,316 Posts
    I have an idea, make it so you can parent a camera to a part of the animated ragdoll.
    Awesome. You could do a first person free running shot in one take :]

  10. Post #50
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    Director's Mod can be downloaded per SVN now.

    It's still under development. Stuff might be changed, while new features will be added and bugs will be fixed. Don't hesitate to give me suggestions for improvement and report bugs.

    You don't need to worry about your animation files. If they should get incompatible with newer versions, I'll release a converter.

    To add DMod to GMod, you should create a new folder in the addons folder. The name doesn't matter. Checkout the folder with this url: http://svn.gmod.de/svn/directorsmod/trunk/
    You can download it from garrysmod.org, too. But I would suggest you to use SVN if you can.
    After downloading, you can read the tutorial and the manual which have been added to the new folder with DMod.

    I'll edit the first post sometimes. Some stuff there don't fit with the new versions anymore.

    If everything goes well, I'll add better interpolation techniques (f.e. cubic spline interpolation), more types and more features. You can expect some improvements in existing features, too. Only one thing: Think with Valve Time. It's getting busy here.



    I have an idea, make it so you can parent a camera to a part of the animated ragdoll.
    Just weld it.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Germany Show Events Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  11. Post #51

    September 2010
    9 Posts
    Director's Mod can be downloaded per SVN now.

    It's still under development. Stuff might be changed, while new features will be added and bugs will be fixed. Don't hesitate to give me suggestions for improvement and report bugs.

    You don't need to worry about your animation files. If they should get incompatible with newer versions, I'll release a converter.

    To add DMod to GMod, you should create a new folder in the addons folder. The name doesn't matter. Checkout the folder with this url: http://svn.gmod.de/svn/directorsmod/trunk/
    You can download it from garrysmod.org, too. But I would suggest you to use SVN if you can.
    After downloading, you can read the tutorial and the manual which have been added to the new folder with DMod.

    I'll edit the first post sometimes. Some stuff there don't fit with the new versions anymore.

    If everything goes well, I'll add better interpolation techniques (f.e. cubic spline interpolation), more types and more features. You can expect some improvements in existing features, too. Only one thing: Think with Valve Time. It's getting busy here.


    Just weld it.
    heres a quick suggestion, I'm a dumbass, Plus im autistic, So I'm wondering if you could make a menu, Like the latest ragmorph or cinemahelper v4.0
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United Kingdom Show Events Funny Funny x 1Optimistic Optimistic x 1Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  12. Post #52
    100% Homemade
    ZestyLemons's Avatar
    September 2007
    8,346 Posts
    heres a quick suggestion, I'm a dumbass, Plus im autistic, So I'm wondering if you could make a menu, Like the latest ragmorph or cinemahelper v4.0
    He'll probably add one later on in development. Remembering a few console commands isn't too too hard, you could just write them down if really needed.

  13. Post #53
    The Rizzler's Avatar
    March 2009
    1,316 Posts
    JokeSpeaker's friend on youtube commented on his tutorial for this explaining how JS would be happy for anyone else to come up with a menu, but he feels that one isnt required and therefore probably wont produce one himself

    Just to clarify

  14. Post #54
    Russian's Avatar
    August 2009
    393 Posts
    Very difficult make machinima with that mod because it need over9000 hours

    (User was banned for this post ("Memeshit" - grea$emonkey))
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Russian Federation Show Events Dumb Dumb x 2 (list)

  15. Post #55
    giizismukwa's Avatar
    October 2009
    89 Posts
    this is complicated as fuck
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United States Show Events Agree Agree x 4Disagree Disagree x 3 (list)

  16. Post #56
    Gold Member
    SlayerFin's Avatar
    May 2008
    4,243 Posts
    this is complicated as fuck
    Say no more, i expected something more user-friendly stuff and not messing with console.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Finland Show Events Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  17. Post #57
    Gold Member
    Sodisna's Avatar
    May 2007
    2,922 Posts
    This needs a GUI. Maybe someone who write one up. This isn't n00b proof as far as I'm concerned. No offense though.

  18. Post #58

    September 2010
    9 Posts
    This needs a GUI. Maybe someone who write one up. This isn't n00b proof as far as I'm concerned. No offense though.
    Yeah, I requested that in the requests part, However no-one has got around to doing one yet,

  19. Post #59
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    If I had built in a GUI then your next problem would have been how complicated DMod is. If you were able to understand how to use DMod itself then you would be able to use the console, too.
    It's not a toy like almost every addon is. It is something that requires a brain and work.
    Learn how to use the console. It's faster than a GUI and easy if understood.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Germany Show Events Funny Funny x 1 (list)

  20. Post #60
    CJF
    PieClock's Avatar
    August 2006
    16,258 Posts
    That isn't really the point though. As was said before you should at least add it in as an optional feature. Those who can use the console faster can do so, and those who aren't as technical with stuff are able to use the GUI.

    I'd be more than happy to feature this mod on our news site in its current state, however, I'll wait to see what you do with it next first.

    Anyway, this looks really nice, and definitely has a lot of potential behind it. I'd definitely see myself using it.

  21. Post #61
    Defkaunta's Avatar
    August 2006
    27 Posts
    This flex animation test uses a better total of fps.
    Funny, i didn't think you would show it :). But anyway its great you finally released the addon. This will help a lot of Machinima makers :).

  22. Post #62

    September 2010
    9 Posts
    That isn't really the point though. As was said before you should at least add it in as an optional feature. Those who can use the console faster can do so, and those who aren't as technical with stuff are able to use the GUI.

    I'd be more than happy to feature this mod on our news site in its current state, however, I'll wait to see what you do with it next first.

    Anyway, this looks really nice, and definitely has a lot of potential behind it. I'd definitely see myself using it.
    Good idea PieClock, More brainer people can use console, And more shitbrained people (AKA me) can use the GUI menu, If made.

  23. Post #63
    The Rizzler's Avatar
    March 2009
    1,316 Posts
    I can use both, but i tend to use the menus because either it's
    1. Press console key, type in command, press enter, press close console button
    2. Press context key, hit button, close context menu

    considering that C is directly under my index finger while the console button is awkwardly up in the top left (i know this can be rebinded) as well as the amount of time it takes to type in the command, i would prefer a GUI
    i am aware of key binds but i have them all mapped to things i use all the time :/
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United Kingdom Show Events Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  24. Post #64
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    That isn't really the point though. As was said before you should at least add it in as an optional feature. Those who can use the console faster can do so, and those who aren't as technical with stuff are able to use the GUI.
    I can use both, but i tend to use the menus because either it's
    1. Press console key, type in command, press enter, press close console button
    2. Press context key, hit button, close context menu
    I understood. But this is still one of the last things on my todo-list.
    Maybe I'll change my mind about it and write the GUI. Depends on how popular DMod gets.

    I'd be more than happy to feature this mod on our news site in its current state, however, I'll wait to see what you do with it next first.
    The upcoming updates wouldn't change DMod that much that your article wouldn't fit anymore. Feel free to announce it now. I'll appreciate it greatly.

  25. Post #65
    monitor646's Avatar
    January 2009
    89 Posts
    ... This is relevant to my interests.

  26. Post #66
    CJF
    PieClock's Avatar
    August 2006
    16,258 Posts
    The upcoming updates wouldn't change DMod that much that your article wouldn't fit anymore. Feel free to announce it now. I'll appreciate it greatly.
    More people will be interested whenever it is more user-friendly, which is why I'm going to wait.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United Kingdom Show Events Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  27. Post #67
    Gold Member
    Sodisna's Avatar
    May 2007
    2,922 Posts
    You won't have a lot of people using this if they can't use it. If you want people to use it, maybe you should make the tutorial a bit easier to understand or make a video tutorial so can actually see what's going one instead of look at a wall of text and single frame images.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United States Show Events Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  28. Post #68
    huyu's Avatar
    May 2010
    884 Posts
    I understood. But this is still one of the last things on my todo-list.
    Maybe I'll change my mind about it and write the GUI. Depends on how popular DMod gets.

    hmm, well i think it would get more popular with a gui, thats the only reason im not bothering to download

  29. Post #69
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    First update released (Rev5, DMod 1.2):
    Changelog:

    Rev5 (1.2):
    Added ghosts
    ^ When creating a frame with the "phys" type, a transparent copy of the saved pose will be generated (ghost).
    Added dmod_ghostauto, dmod_ghostdel, dmod_ghostmax
    Added settings system
    ^ Settings like dmod_ghostauto and dmod_ghostmax will be saved.
    Updated manual
    Manual:

    2.4: dmod_ghostauto 1/0
    #Enables/Disables creating ghosts when executing dmod_new succesfully.
    - 1/0: 1 for enabled or 0 for disabled. Default: 1

    2.5: dmod_ghostdel ID
    #Deletes the ghost with the given ID.
    - ID: ID of the ghost to delete or 'all' for all ghosts.

    2.6: dmod_ghostmax max
    #Sets the maximum amount of ghosts (The oldest ones will be deleted when exceeding the limit).
    - max: Maximum amount of ghosts. Default: 50
    Alternative download: http://www.garrysmod.org/downloads/?a=view&id=109872
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Germany Show Events Funny Funny x 1 (list)

  30. Post #70

    September 2010
    9 Posts
    Nice, Very very nice, I do hope this gets popular Btw, A GUI menu would help a lot.

    Edited:

    Well, I finally made one, But I found an error recording with registered fraps, I get a lua error that says: Infinite loop detected! How would I fix this?

    Edited:
    I uploaded my test, Its good considering I toyed around with it for ages trying to make it:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUm7Um62Eio

  31. Post #71
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    I've decided to make a GUI now.
    The tutorial needs to be overhauled, but I don't know when I'll do this.

    Well, I finally made one, But I found an error recording with registered fraps, I get a lua error that says: Infinite loop detected! How would I fix this?
    Does it appear only when running fraps? Write the entire error message here.
    Temporary solution: Use Source Recorder instead.

    Use more interpolations. This one seems to have none.

  32. Post #72

    September 2010
    9 Posts
    I've decided to make a GUI now.
    The tutorial needs to be overhauled, but I don't know when I'll do this.


    Does it appear only when running fraps? Write the entire error message here.
    Temporary solution: Use Source Recorder instead.


    Use more interpolations. This one seems to have none.
    I used registered fraps, I used wegame for the test...And whats interpolations? lol I don't know shit.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United Kingdom Show Events Dumb Dumb x 1 (list)

  33. Post #73
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    I used registered fraps, I used wegame for the test
    Generate a new garrysmod folder with DMod and look if the error appears again.

    And whats interpolations? lol I don't know shit.
    Did you even read the tutorial?
    An interpolation is an automatically generated frame between the keyframes. The more interpolations you have the smoother the animation is.
    It's the number after kfps in the command parameters (interp).

  34. Post #74

    September 2010
    9 Posts
    Generate a new garrysmod folder with DMod and look if the error appears again.


    Did you even read the tutorial?

    It's the number after kfps in the command parameters (interp).
    Ah, Ok.

  35. Post #75
    Grocel's Avatar
    October 2008
    1,233 Posts
    If I had built in a GUI then your next problem would have been how complicated DMod is. If you were able to understand how to use DMod itself then you would be able to use the console, too.
    It's not a toy like almost every addon is. It is something that requires a brain and work.
    Learn how to use the console. It's faster than a GUI and easy if understood.
    Photoshop or Paint.NET aren't "toys" too, you also need brains to use them and they have a gui. What would be Gmod without the spawnmenu-gui? What would be windows or linux with out a gui? Guis and more user-friendliness can give their programs and addons more quality and more popularity. ;)

  36. Post #76
    Gold Member
    AndrewPH's Avatar
    July 2010
    691 Posts
    Photoshop or Paint.NET aren't "toys" too, you also need brains to use them and they have a gui. What would be Gmod without the spawnmenu-gui? What would be windows or linux with out a gui? Guis and more user-friendliness can give their programs and addons more quality and more popularity. ;)
    Linux without a GUI would be Linux.

  37. Post #77
    Slithersoul's Avatar
    March 2010
    4,538 Posts
    This would be hella popular with a good GUI.

    Seriously, implement a GUI in the next update. There's hardly anyone who prefers console > GUI.

  38. Post #78
    The Cold Wind Of France
    MaxOfS2D's Avatar
    November 2008
    18,683 Posts
    Just looked at it, this looks fairly interesting to beat one of Source's moviemaking limitations, which is not being able to reproduce one scene exactly like it went

    For animating models, it's just better to go and learn a 3D package, though — http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rYmEv_4Ntg

  39. Post #79
    JokeSpeaker's Avatar
    November 2009
    75 Posts
    Your wish in its current state:



    The empty boxes are for the marks, types, scripts and script parameters.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Germany Show Events Useful Useful x 2 (list)

  40. Post #80
    Defkaunta's Avatar
    August 2006
    27 Posts
    Here is a new animation test with Joker's Dircetor's Mod. I don't know about you guys but it just rocks!


    Ps.: Except the POV Shot and the Faceposing, everything was made with DMod.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Germany Show Events Artistic Artistic x 3 (list)