1. Post #1
    open.gl
    February 2007
    7,431 Posts
    A simple question, but it might reveal some interesting stories. Let me take off with my own.

Back in 2005 MSN was all the rage and I decided to join my first internet forum in that time, which was about "Botje", a program written in Visual Basic 6 to make MSN bots. You could add sentences and regular expressions to it that the bot would reply to. This inspired me and I wanted to start making my own programs, so I started learning Visual Basic. Unfortunately I have no recollection of how I actually learned the language, but I would proceed to make a few interesting projects with it that are still on planetsourcecode.com today. Shortly after joining that forum and learning VB6, I went to the first class of a high school that had computer activities on Friday afternoons. We sometimes organized CS:S or Age of Empires LAN parties in the school's computer classroom. During one of these afternoons, I showed a Blackjack game I had made in VB6 to the IT guy who organized those afternoons and he was impressed. He told me that I should try to move on to C++ later, because that's what real programs were written in. I remember trying to learn C++ on cplusplus.com, but it was way too difficult for me back then. I thought I would never memorize all the things to type to make Hello World .

I must add that before quitting VB6, I've utilised it twice for evil behaviour. At that time, Internet Explorer was still the standard browser for everyone and the IE control in Visual Basic would retain the cookies and cache of the regular browser for some reason. So I wrote an application that, when run, defaced the profile on that first internet forum I joined. That got me an instant permaban, but the forum ceased to exist about 2 months later because of inactivity, so it didn't matter much. The other time was when I wrote a trojan and sent it to people on MSN as a fake WinZip self-extractor. Those were the days.