1. Post #441
    Gold Member
    djshox's Avatar
    September 2005
    3,962 Posts
    For some reason, the EP2 configuration has water-reflective floors showing up like this:



    It looks like it's additive or something, but anyways it's only started happening recently. I can load up previous compiled maps that have used that reflective floor and they appear perfect. I can even compile the map in the screenshot in the EP1 configuration and it loads up correctly, but only the EP2 configuration is flipping out about it. I've tried resetting my game configurations, re-downloading Source SDK, and redownloading EP2. Any ideas?
    Anything guys? :S
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  2. Post #442
    Gold Member
    laptopman's Avatar
    May 2008
    1,577 Posts
    Im not sure this is the right place but
    I made some particle effects to replace the default thruster effects, how would i go about replacing them?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  3. Post #443
    Dennab
    May 2009
    767 Posts
    How do i make a scripted sequence, and make an NPC play an animation, where they speak.

    I can't find it in "model" under the NPC (Kleiner) so i'm kinda lost.

    Ty

    Edited:

    See "sdk_phys_motor" in "...\sourcesdk_content\hl2\mapsrc".
    For some reason i don't have any of the example SDK stuff...
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United Kingdom Show Events

  4. Post #444
    Gold Member
    tyanet's Avatar
    June 2007
    3,114 Posts
    I somehow made it so my textures increase in size along with the brush when I increase it's size.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  5. Post #445
    Gold Member
    Pelf's Avatar
    September 2007
    3,021 Posts
    There's a button at the top that looks kind of like <tl>. Click it.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Useful Useful x 1 (list)

  6. Post #446
    Gold Member
    tyanet's Avatar
    June 2007
    3,114 Posts
    Thanks
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  7. Post #447
    braxus's Avatar
    September 2008
    653 Posts
    Grass sprites aren't working. What's wrong? D:\
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  8. Post #448
    Gold Member
    DaApocalypse's Avatar
    December 2005
    678 Posts
    Did you set the render mode to additive?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  9. Post #449
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Does the material support detail props?

    Is the detail type listed in the .vbsp?

    Is the alpha setting on the displacement or detail type correct?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  10. Post #450
    braxus's Avatar
    September 2008
    653 Posts
    I'm using nature/blendgrassgrass001a.

    What's the .vbsp?

    Don't know. What's the correct setting?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  11. Post #451
    Gold Member
    TheForeigner's Avatar
    November 2008
    6,966 Posts
    Some displacements i make go 0.3 off the grid, how do i fix it?
    Everyting else stays on the grid like i want, but some always go 2.3 -> 4.3 -> 6.3 (i use grid size 2)
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Estonia Show Events

  12. Post #452
    TheXeon's Avatar
    July 2009
    555 Posts
    what do i do if i want to make something move turn on 3 different sound effects and turn on 2 lights with 1 button?

    Light 1
    Light 2
    SFX 1
    SFX 2
    SFX 3
    Move
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United Kingdom Show Events Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 1Dumb Dumb x 1 (list)

  13. Post #453
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Detail Props

    nature/blendgrassgrass001a does not have a detail type.


    Never heard of this before. Requesting screenshot.


    Add multiple outputs to the button?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 3 (list)

  14. Post #454
    braxus's Avatar
    September 2008
    653 Posts
    where is the detail.vbsp file?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  15. Post #455
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    In the game's root folder. May be located in the .gcf.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Informative Informative x 2 (list)

  16. Post #456
    braxus's Avatar
    September 2008
    653 Posts
    -snip-

    Thanks.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  17. Post #457
    I'm friendly!
    zeebiedeebie's Avatar
    June 2007
    3,604 Posts
    -snipperoo-
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  18. Post #458
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Pitch probably needs to be changed. By default it is parallel to the horizon.

    Sky List
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  19. Post #459
    Dennab
    May 2009
    767 Posts
    How do i make rain in my map?

    Edit: I love rule 34 :D
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United Kingdom Show Events Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 2 (list)

  20. Post #460
    Gold Member
    Pelf's Avatar
    September 2007
    3,021 Posts
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  21. Post #461
    Dennab
    May 2009
    767 Posts
    How do i make rain in my map?

    Edit: I love rule 34 :D
    Where is the spelling mistake!?

    How do i make zombie spawn points, so theres a constant stream of zombies?

    Edit: And how do i make grass sprites?

    Edit: Ty Cobra. How do i do intro movies in the beginning of a level, for instance; you wake up in a bed, and look around the room (something basic)?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United Kingdom Show Events Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 4Friendly Friendly x 1Bad Reading Bad Reading x 1 (list)

  22. Post #462
    Groovy Member
    Agent Cobra's Avatar
    January 2005
    2,883 Posts
    Use an npc_maker, set to spawn an npc_zombie (or a fast or a poison zombie, if you want)
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Show Events

  23. Post #463
    Gold Member
    Athena's Avatar
    August 2005
    1,497 Posts
    Anyone know how to make those red forcefields like in the Portal Flash Mappack? I tried decompiling one of their maps (even with hacked vmex) and it won't open. I keep getting EOF'd early.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Canada Show Events

  24. Post #464
    Gold Member
    laptopman's Avatar
    May 2008
    1,577 Posts
    I know this has been asked before but i couldnt find the thread. When i click, it either acts like z (in the 3d view) or drags (in the 2d view) what causes this?
    It fixed itself but i would like to know for future reference
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 2Dumb Dumb x 1 (list)

  25. Post #465
    BJK
    BJK's Avatar
    December 2008
    1,758 Posts
    Hitting the Z key? Did you accidentally click the magnifying glass?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  26. Post #466
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Detail Props


    Probably a trigger set to kill the player with a non-solid effects brush.

    Could try patching the .vmf manually.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  27. Post #467
    Dennab
    May 2009
    767 Posts
    Does anyone know of a good texture for a skyscraper?

    Edit: What is portal flow?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United Kingdom Show Events

  28. Post #468
    BJK
    BJK's Avatar
    December 2008
    1,758 Posts
    metal/metalwall012a
    metal/metalwall012b


    PortalFlow is a compile process that tries to optimize it. Very slow, only run on medium on the final build. NEVER run on fast on the final, you always want the best results released.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  29. Post #469
    Dennab
    May 2009
    767 Posts
    metal/metalwall012a
    metal/metalwall012b


    PortalFlow is a compile process that tries to optimize it. Very slow, only run on medium on the final build. NEVER run on fast on the final, you always want the best results released.
    OK thanks.

    Is this guy actually perma banned?

    If he isn't I'll feel like an idiot for saying anything.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United Kingdom Show Events Dumb Dumb x 1 (list)

  30. Post #470
    BJK
    BJK's Avatar
    December 2008
    1,758 Posts
    It's the old permaban avatar from 2005.

    Question megathread has turned into help avwos megathread.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  31. Post #471
    Dennab
    May 2009
    767 Posts
    Ah. OK.

    How do i make an NPC (a zombine) walk around, without having to see an enemy NPC or the player?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United Kingdom Show Events

  32. Post #472
    Gold Member
    Athena's Avatar
    August 2005
    1,497 Posts
    Func_Tracktrains are the biggest bullshit ever.

    I have one set up to move like an elevator but no matter what I do it spawns on its edge.

    I have the first path track pointing straight down and I've told it to face the direction of travel

    I'd use something else but it needs to make an intermediate stop.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Canada Show Events

  33. Post #473
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Use a func_movelinear with move distance of one unit. The SetPosition input can then be given with the number of units to move.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Useful Useful x 1Friendly Friendly x 1Informative Informative x 1 (list)

  34. Post #474
    Gold Member
    laptopman's Avatar
    May 2008
    1,577 Posts
    I know this has been asked before but i couldnt find the thread. When i click, it either acts like z (in the 3d view) or drags (in the 2d view) what causes this?
    It fixed itself but i would like to know for future reference
    Happened again
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  35. Post #475
    Gold Member
    Athena's Avatar
    August 2005
    1,497 Posts
    Spacebar?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Canada Show Events

  36. Post #476
    Kabolte's Avatar
    March 2008
    293 Posts
    When I try to test a map Im working on, I can't use my flashlight, switch weapons, or any of that stuff. Anyone know why?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  37. Post #477
    Gold Member
    Lord Ned's Avatar
    April 2006
    3,702 Posts
    Because you don't have an item_suit?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  38. Post #478
    BJK
    BJK's Avatar
    December 2008
    1,758 Posts
    Console, sv_cheats 1, impulse 101. This supplies running, flashlight, weapons and more.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  39. Post #479
    Gold Member
    Athena's Avatar
    August 2005
    1,497 Posts
    The SetPosition input can then be given with the number of units to move.
    Thanks. Is this relative to its current position or its original position?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Canada Show Events

  40. Post #480
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Original.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1Useful Useful x 1 (list)